## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

April 20, 2020

President Donald Trump The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, DC 20500

Dear President Trump,

The COVID-19 pandemic is impacting local communities across our nation in unprecedented ways. All Americans are attempting to understand the full measure of this crisis, even as it continues to evolve on a daily basis. As in many of our nation's most challenging times, the public turns to free and local media for life-saving information and breaking news, because local radio, television and newspapers are still the most trusted sources in times of emergency and disaster. We urge you work with us in ensuring that local media can continue to inform communities, even as these outlets face unprecedented economic distress.

Local news and information on radio, television and newsprint is more in demand than ever, yet local media outlets are experiencing catastrophic losses in the advertising revenue that allows them to continue investing in providing that news to the public. This national emergency has caused a near halt to local business activity and in turn, the regular and vital advertising they purchase from local media. Without advertising revenue, local media outlets cannot survive.

We believe that Executive Branch agencies have a powerful opportunity to support local media and promote public awareness by directing that federal spending on advertising be prioritized for local media outlets. Specifically, we encourage federal agencies to put into action today already funded campaigns to achieve certain public objectives as well as potential promotions of the economic stimulus programs provided for by the CARES Act and other recent legislation. We urge you to:

- 1) Direct your Cabinet secretaries to review any resources intended to be used for advertising campaigns and have them expedite such activities with local media outlets;
- 2) Direct federal agency advertising dollars for existing and new federal programs where community outreach is needed for spending with local media, including those serving minority and rural communities; and
- 3) Incentivize a portion of stimulus funds provided to businesses for their recovery efforts for advertising on local media.

To get America moving again and strengthen our communities in the midst of this evolving crisis, we must be creative and use all available tools. Advertising plays an incredible role in local economies, and its importance to the sustainability of local broadcast stations and newspapers cannot be overstated. We thank you for your efforts so that Americans may continue to rely on the sources of local information they trust the most.

Sincerely,

**Debbie Dingell** 

Member of Congress

Marc Vease

Member of Congress

Bin From

Bill Flores Member of Congress

ned M

Fred Upton Member of Congress

## **ADDITIONAL SIGNATORIES:**

Paul Tonko Don Bacon **Bill Johnson** Elaine Luria Sean Patrick Maloney Peter Visclosky Ruben Gallego Tom Suozzi Haley M. Stevens Danny K. Davis **Brian Higgins** H. Morgan Griffith Kathy Castor Ed Case Cedric Richmond Doris Matsui Ilhan Omar Kendra S. Horn **Russ Fulcher** Salud O. Carbajal Michael T. McCaul Stephen Lynch Gerald E. Connolly Angie Craig Bobby L. Rush Jeff Van Drew Tom Malinowski **Chris** Pappas G. K. Butterfield Sylvia R. Garcia Joyce Beatty **Rodney Davis** 

Joe Wilson Bill Pascrell, Jr. Nydia M Velázquez Ben Ray Lujan Jimmy Gomez Ron Kind **David Scott** John B. Larson Jimmy Panetta Dutch Ruppersberger **Brian Fitzpatrick** Carolyn B. Maloney Henry Cuellar Mike Bost Vicente Gonzalez F. James Sensenbrenner Jr. Dusty Johnson Darren Soto Mike Quigley **Billy Long** Gus M. Bilirakis Mark E. Amodei Nanette Diaz Barragán John Curtis Neal Dunn **Rick Crawford** Adriano Espaillat William Timmons Eddie Bernice Johnson José E. Serrano Susan Brooks **Buddy Carter** 

Austin Scott Rob Woodall Roger Marshall, M.D. Mac Thornberry Juan Vargas Joe Courtney Ann Kirkpatrick Alan Lowenthal André Carson David Price Ben Cline Al Lawson Sheila Jackson Lee Richard E. Neal Tom Cole David Rouzer Andy Harris, M.D. Tom Graves Chip Roy Ralph Abraham Tim Burchett Bradley Byrne Tony Cardenas David Cicilline Yvette Clarke Collin C. Peterson Doug Collins Jim Cooper Joe Cunningham Chuck Fleischmann Louie Gohmert Paul Gosar

Debra Haaland Jim Hagedorn Peter King Annie Kuster Debbie Lesko Ben McAdams David McKinley Seth Moulton Markwayne Mullin **Steve Stivers** Joseph P. Kennedy, III Sharice Davids Max Rose **Dina** Titus Mario Diaz-Balart Tulsi Gabbard Fred Keller Jamie Herrera Beutler Pete Olson Steve Cohen Peter Welch Andy Biggs David P. Roe, M.D. Tim Walberg John Shimkus Ralph Norman Steve Chabot Diana DeGette Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr. Ron Wright French Hill Adrian Smith Raja Krishnamoorthi Jodey C. Arrington James Comer Xochtil Torres Small Elise Stefanik Jamie Raskin Carole Miller Jackie Walorski Alex X. Mooney Garret Graves **Bill Foster** Lori Trahan Abby Finkenauer Rosa DeLauro

Harley Rouda Betty McCollum Veronica Escobar **Rob Bishop** Jim Banks Suzan K. DelBene Jason Crow Pete Stauber Lucy McBath Jeff Duncan Drew Ferguson Jason Smith Guy Reschenthaler **Richard Hudson Robert Aderholt** Kurt Schrader Anthony Gonzalez Darin LaHood Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Mike Gallagher Greg Gianforte Jack Bergman Mike Simpson Andy Barr David P. Joyce **Brad Schneider** Hal Rogers Mark Walker Bryan Steil Michael Guest Theodore E. Deutch Susie Lee John Rose **Brian Mast** Pramila Jayapal John Yarmuth Zoe Lofgren Steven Palazzo Dan Kildee Steve Womack Steve King Antonio Delgado Alma Adams **Troy Balderson** Anthony Brindisi Anthony Brown

Larry Buchson Liz Cheney **Emanuel Cleaver** Mike Conaway Tom Emmer Eliot Engel Anna Eshoo Jeff Fortenberry Virginia Foxx Jared Golden Josh Gottheimer Raul Grijalva Kevin Hern Will Hurd Derek Kilmer Adam Kinzinger **Rick Larsen** David Loebsack Frank Lucas Grace Meng Joe Morelle Grace Napolitano Joe Neguse Tom O'Halleran **Dean Phillips** Mark Pocan Kathleen Rice Mike Rogers Jan Schakowsky David Schweikert Terri Sewell Norma Torres Michael Turner Filemon Vela **Brad Wenstrup** Bruce Westerman Don Young Dan Newhouse Greg Murphy Glenn Grothman **Bob** Latta Ted Budd David Kustoff John Katko Mike Johnson **Roger Williams** 

Jackie Speier Raul Ruiz, M.D. Brendan Boyle Don McEachin

Kelly Armstrong