Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

July 9, 2020

The Honorable Chad Wolf Acting Secretary Department of Homeland Security 245 Murray Lane, SW Washington, DC 20528

Dear Acting Secretary Wolf:

We are writing to express our concern regarding the recent modifications to the Student and Exchange Visitor Program that will end temporary exemptions for nonimmigrant students on F-1 and M-1 visas taking classes online for the fall 2020 semester. With many universities transitioning to online learning, this policy will potentially require many international students to leave the country during the COVID-19 pandemic rather than continue their studies this fall. This will pose a threat to our nation's leadership in higher education and will have significant human costs if not promptly rescinded.

According to State Department data, there are nearly 400,000 holders of F visas and nearly 10,000 holders of M visas in the United States as of last year. These students play a key role in academic life in universities across the country by supporting cutting-edge research, enriching campus life, and helping the United States maintain its leadership role in higher education. Their presence is not only fundamental to academic life, but also support hundreds of thousands of jobs across the country each academic year.

Given that many universities are planning on temporarily transitioning to online-only learning for the fall 2020 semester, this new policy puts many of these students at risk of deportation if they attempt to continue their education in the United States this fall. This disruption will threaten university communities and have a chilling effect on international students' willingness to study in the United States moving forward.

International students both enrich the higher education experience for all students and are a key part of the higher education ecosystem. The modifications to the Student and Exchange Visitor Program are needlessly punitive and fundamentally threaten a cornerstone of our nation's higher education system. With this mind, we urge you to rescind these changes to the Student and Exchange Visitor Program.

Thank you for your consideration and we look forward to your prompt response.

Sincerely,

ebbie Dingell

Debbie Dingell Member of Congress

Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez Member of Congress Adam Smith Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress

André Carson Member of Congress

Alan Lowenthal Member of Congress

Jerrold Nadler Member of Congress

John Garamendi Member of Congress Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Stephanie Murphy Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

Ron Kind Member of Congress Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

David Trone Member of Congress Ann Kirkpatrick Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

Joseph D. Morelle Member of Congress Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Joe Neguse Member of Congress

Peter A. DeFazio Member of Congress

Debbie Murcasel-Powell Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Eliot L. Engel Member of Congress

Gwen Moore Member of Congress Member of Congress

Carolyn B. Maloney

Mike Doyle Member of Congress

Rosa L. DeLauro Member of Congress

Hakeem Jeffries Member of Congress

Mike Quigley Member of Congress

Lauren Underwood Member of Congress Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Steve Cohen Member of Congress José E. Serrano

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Lori Trahan

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress Jim Cooper Member of Congress

Frank Pallone, Jr. Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Albio Sires Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. Member of Congress

Alcee L. Hastings Member of Congress Brian Higgins Member of Congress

David E. Price Member of Congress

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Ed Case Member of Congress

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Mark Takano

Donald Norcross Member of Congress Yvette D. Clarke Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

G. K. Butterfield Member of Congress

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Tim Ryan Member of Congress

Brenda L. Lawrence Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress

Brad Sherman Member of Congress Jackie Speier Member of Congress

Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress Mike Thompson Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Kathleen M. Rice Member of Congress Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Donna E. Shalala

Member of Congress

Bill Pascrell, Jr. Member of Congress

Conor Lamb Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress Judy Chu Member of Congress

Gregory W. Meeks Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress

Derek Kilmer Member of Congress David N. Cicilline

Member of Congress

Peter Welch

Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress Anthony G. Brown Member of Congress

Dave Loebsack Member of Congress Ted Deutch Member of Congress

Andy Kim Member of Congress

Norma J. Torres Member of Congress Deb Haaland Member of Congress

Bill Foster Member of Congress

T.J. Cox Member of Congress

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

John P. Sarbanes Member of Congress

Abby Finkenauer Member of Congress Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

Grace Meng Member of Congress

William R. Keating Member of Congress

John Yarmuth Member of Congress

Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr. Member of Congress

Susan Wild Member of Congress Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress Filemon Vela Member of Congress

Colin Allred Member of Congress