## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

September 4, 2020

Ms. Aurelia Skipwith Director U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 1849 C Street, NW Washington, DC 20240

Dear Director Skipwith:

We write to express our opposition to the proposed rule (FWS-HQ-ES-2020-0047) to add a narrow definition of "habitat" to Endangered Species Act (ESA) regulations. We are alarmed by this proposed rule, especially in the context of the three regulations finalized last year that weakened ESA implementation. This onslaught of environmental rollbacks that threaten the survival of our nation's wildlife must stop.

The proposed definition, if finalized, would limit the ability of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS) and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) to conserve and restore important habitat based on the best available science for the recovery of ESA-listed species.

First, the proposed definition of "habitat" states that only "areas with existing attributes" needed to support the species would be considered "habitat," potentially excluding some areas that require restoration or modification in order to support a species. Federal agencies have long designated degraded habitats as "critical habitat" under the ESA and then worked to restore those areas to serve as strongholds for species recovery, however under this proposed definition, those habitats would be left out. In ecosystems with degraded habitat where species' ranges have shrunk, this is an especially important tool.

Second, this rule is short-sighted in the face of unprecedented and devastating climate change. We already know that species' ranges will shift to follow favorable temperatures, retreat from rising sea levels, or perhaps follow their desired prey. FWS and NOAA will, in many cases, need to designate areas as "critical habitat" that we know species will move to in order to survive in the foreseeable future. The proposed definition would limit that opportunity for some areas, despite the best available science on wildlife migrations and climate forecasting.

In addition to the proposed definition, FWS and NOAA are requesting comment on an alternative definition of "habitat" that is even worse because it goes further in stating that unoccupied areas qualify as "habitat" under the ESA only if they currently possess everything that a species needs. This alternative definition would also preclude areas that need restoration or that will be altered because of climate change.

Habitat loss is the leading cause of biodiversity loss, and the loss of biodiversity threatens human health and wellbeing with fewer ecosystem services and increased risk of disease outbreaks. With a million species at risk of extinction globally, we should be strengthening our tools for species conservation and investing in habitat restoration. By narrowly defining "habitat", this rule does the exact opposite and will put more species at risk of extinction. For those reasons we oppose this proposed rule and urge you to withdraw it.

Sincerely,

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell U Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer, Jr. Member of Congress

Deb Haaland Member of Congress Alan Lowenthal Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Joe Neguse Member of Congress Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Mark Pocan Member of Congress

Eliot L. Engel Member of Congress Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

Susan Wild Member of Congress Ro Khanna Member of Congress

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress Debbie Murcarsel-Powell Member of Congress

Dina Titus Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress Grace Napolitano Member of Congress

A. Donald McEachin Member of Congress

Jackie Speier Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Maxine Waters Member of Congress

Donna E. Shalala Member of Congress Alcee L. Hastings Member of Congress

Judy Chu Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

Albio Sires Member of Congress

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress Brenda L. Lawrence Member of Congress

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. Member of Congress

Ted Lieu Member of Congress

Yvette D. Clarke Member of Congress Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress

David N. Cicilline Member of Congress

Abigail D. Spanberger Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Mike Quigley Member of Congress Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Rick Larsen Member of Congress James R. Langevin Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Tom Malinowski

Member of Congress

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Bennie G. Thompson Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

Al Lawson Member of Congress Susan Davis Member of Congress William R. Keating Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress Ed Case Member of Congress

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

Grace Meng Member of Congress Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr. Member of Congress

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

Tom O'Halleran Member of Congress Betty McCollum Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Karen Bass Member of Congress David E. Price Member of Congress J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

Denny Heck Member of Congress John P. Sarbanes Member of Congress

Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Member of Congress

John Yarmuth Member of Congress

Mark Takano Member of Congress

Joseph D. Morelle Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

Bradley S. Schneider Member of Congress Kathy Castor Member of Congress

Ann Kirkpatrick Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Derek Kilmer Member of Congress

Colin Allred Member of Congress Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Kathleen M. Rice Member of Congress Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Jason Crow Member of Congress Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Bill Pascrell, Jr.

Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Steven Horsford Member of Congress Haley Stevens Member of Congress

Katie Porter Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez Member of Congress

Nita M. Lowey Member of Congress