Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

October 19, 2020

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker United States House of Representatives H-222 The Capitol Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Steny Hoyer Majority Leader United States House of Representatives H-107 The Capitol Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Nita M. Lowey Chairwoman Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives H-307 The Capitol Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker Pelosi, Leader Hoyer, and Chairwoman Lowey:

As you negotiate the final Fiscal Year (FY) 2021 appropriations bill for the Interior, Environment and Related Agencies, we urge you to ensure that the rider from previous appropriations bills that prohibits the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS) from considering the greater sage-grouse for protection under the Endangered Species Act (ESA) is not included in the final bill. We very much appreciate that the House version of the Interior bill eliminated the rider and urge you to stand strong in upholding the House position in year-end negotiations on the appropriations bills.

The greater sage-grouse is a keystone species in the Sagebrush Sea ecosystem, which stretches across eleven western states and supports more than 350 other species of conservation concern. Today, sage-grouse range is half of what it once was, and populations have declined precipitously in recent years.

In 2015, the Obama Administration developed a series of collaborative conservation plans with stakeholders across the American West, engaging governors, farmers, ranchers, conservationists, and state and local officials in a public planning process to enhance sagebrush habitat and better manage resources across the range of the sage-grouse.

The desire to avoid the need to list the greater sage-grouse under the ESA was a strong motivator to keep stakeholders engaged in the collaborative process; unfortunately, that motivation has been removed as Congress has repeatedly inserted politics into what should be a scientific determination about whether the species warrants ESA protections. Moreover, the Trump administration has been working to further upend this carefully crafted approach, rolling back critical conservation protections to allow for more oil and gas drilling and mining in essential sage-grouse habitat. It is important that FWS scientists be permitted to assess the current population conditions of the greater-sage grouse and be allowed to do their jobs, unencumbered by politics.

Recent studies have found that about one million of the estimated eight million species on earth may be pushed to extinction, many within decades, while already a staggering three million birds have been lost since 1970. The ESA is one of our nation's most important conservation laws. Given this extinction crisis, decisions about which species need protection should be based solely on science. It is long past time for the sage-grouse rider to be eliminated from the final appropriations bill.

We appreciate your consideration of this request.

Sincerely,

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress Debbie Dingell
Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer, Jr. Member of Congress

Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress Mike Quigley Member of Congress

Barbara Lee

Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Carolyn B. Maloney

Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton	Madeleine Dean
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Kathy Castor Member of Congress	Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress
Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress	Mark Pocan Member of Congress
Bennie G. Thompson Member of Congress	Alan Lowenthal Member of Congress
Danny K. Davis Member of Congress	Deb Haaland Member of Congress
Tom O'Halleran Member of Congress	Abigail D. Spanberge Member of Congress
Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress	Jesús G. "Chuy" Gar Member of Congress

Diana DeGette Member of Congress	Ro Khanna Member of Congress
Steve Cohen Member of Congress	Jared Huffman Member of Congress
Jackie Speier Member of Congress	Juan Vargas Member of Congress
Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress	Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress
Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr. Member of Congress	Sean Patrick Maloney Member of Congress
Susan Wild Member of Congress	Ann Kirkpatrick Member of Congress
James P. McGovern Member of Congress	Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin Member of Congress	Richard E. Neal Member of Congress
Bradley S. Schneider Member of Congress	Alcee L. Hastings Member of Congress
David E. Price Member of Congress	Adam Smith Member of Congress
Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress	Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress
Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress	Joe Neguse Member of Congress
Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress	Denny Heck Member of Congress
Harley Rouda Member of Congress	Jimmy Gomez Member of Congress

Peter Welch Member of Congress	A. Donald McEachin Member of Congress
Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress	Joseph P. Kennedy, III Member of Congress
Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress	Jason Crow Member of Congress
John B. Larson Member of Congress	Ruben Gallego Member of Congress