Skip to Content
Home | news | Press Releases

Press Releases

Dingell Announces $3 Million For Downriver Community Conference Brownfield Cleanup

Congresswoman Debbie Dingell (MI-06) today announced that the Downriver Community Conference will receive $3,000,000 in supplemental funding from the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law to support the cleanup and repurposing of Brownfield sites.
“The Downriver Community Conference is managing one of the most robust and effective Brownfield programs in the country, as evidenced by the consistent strong federal funding they receive,” said Rep. Debbie Dingell.  “Cleaning up, restoring, and redeveloping Brownfield sites stimulates economic investment and jobs in our communities and improves quality of life for residents. These funds from the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law will support the DCC’s continued work to make Downriver safer, healthier, and more vibrant.”  
“Thank you, EPA, for your continued support for the Downriver Community Conference Brownfield Coalition,” said James Perry, Executive Director of Downriver Community Conference. “This Supplemental RLF grant award is another huge win for our area and supports the hard work we are doing on brownfields to turn ‘blight sites’ to ‘bright sites.’” 
In addition to the $13,050,000 in EPA funds already awarded, the Downriver Community Conference Brownfield Coalition Brownfield Revolving Loan Fund (RLF) has been selected to receive this additional $3,000,000 through the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law (BIL) because it has a high-performing RLF program with significantly depleted funds. The RLF program has successfully made loans or subgrants leading to 38 cleanup projects that are either completed or in progress. Potential projects are highlighted for use of the BIL funding including the Mill Street Project in Ecorse and the Zug Island Project in River Rouge. The BIL funding will extend the capacity of the program to provide funding for more cleanups in the most underserved areas in 20 communities in the downriver area of southeast Michigan and the counties of Washtenaw, Monroe, and Lenawee.
Learn more about the award here.
Back to top