Skip to Content
Home | news | Press Releases

Press Releases

Dingell, Latta Host Bipartisan Autonomous Vehicle Caucus Launch Event

Co-Chairs Announced 15 New Members Joined Caucus

Representatives Debbie Dingell (D-MI) and Bob Latta (R-OH) today welcomed 15 new members of Congress to the bipartisan Congressional Autonomous Vehicle (AV) Caucus at a launch event attended by lawmakers, automotive and AV technology companies, trade associations, safety groups, and others.

“I’m pleased to welcome 15 new members to the bipartisan Congressional Autonomous Vehicle Caucus and thank all the important AV stakeholders who joined us for this launch event. This is just the first of more great events to come,” said Rep. Dingell. “This caucus is committed to ensuring our nation is engaging all stakeholders, making bold investments, and educating members across the aisle to get the necessary policies right to support the safe deployment of autonomous vehicles. I look forward to working together to make sure the United States stays at the forefront of AV innovation, manufacturing, and safety.”

“For the United States to be the driver of cutting-edge technology, we need a framework for Autonomous Vehicles (AVs) that allows industry to innovate while ensuring high safety standards,” said Rep. Latta. “Our goal for this caucus is to educate and encourage Members of Congress and their staff to look over the horizon and recognize the need for clear laws and an innovation-friendly environment. I’ve said this many times, but we can ensure safety first, safety last, and safety always while working to keep the United States a leader in vehicle innovation. We are thrilled with the turnout for our first event and know that together, we can pave the way for a safer and more accessible future on our roads.”

The new members joining the caucus include Representatives Jennifer Gonzalez-Colon (R-PR), Bill Johnson (R-OH), Lisa Blunt Rochester (D-DE), Nancy Mace (R-SC), Michael Burgess (R-TX), Jim Langevin (D-RI), Anna Eshoo (D-CA), Dina Titus (D-NV), Terri Sewell (D-AL), Jay Obernolte (R-CA), Buddy Carter (R-GA), Fred Upton (R-MI), Larry Bucshon (R-IN), Ro Khanna (D-CA), and Haley Stevens (D-MI).

The purpose of the caucus is to educate Members and staff on autonomous vehicle technology that can improve the safety and accessibility of roadways. Representatives Latta and Dingell serve together on the Subcommittee on Consumer Protection and Commerce on the House Energy and Commerce Committee. You can read more about the caucus here.

Back to top